Making use of the quiet

Doing public relations work for the aerospace sector has the potential to be glamorous and exciting, especially if you’re a space nerd like me. I’m at the start of my third week of my internship and, even though the early morning start time is still a drag, the experience has yet to lose its luster.

That said, not every day is glamorous and exciting. Today was one of those in-between days. It had a lot to do with the holiday tomorrow and most of my coworkers taking today off so that they could have a long weekend. Being a relatively new intern, I don’t have the PTO accrued in order to do that… so I got to work in an office that was almost sepulchrally quiet. My supervisor had anticipated such an occurrence, though, so I had a nice stack of work to do. The bulk of that work involved updating media lists based on who came to our last big static fire test. Sounds exciting, huh? Well, if you like data entry, then this would be right up your alley. But as tedious as it sounds, I know that this is an absolutely necessary thing that has to get taken care of – and who better to do it than the intern? So I genuinely didn’t mind.

Now, shifting gears for a little bit… I’d mentioned last week that one of my tasks is curating content for a social media account that we work with. I’m having a blast with this job because it’s something that I do in my spare time anyway and now I get paid for it. Well, I just realized today that if someone doesn’t know that’s my job, it looks like I’m just goofing off on the Internet. Awkward. Oh well. They’re more than welcome to ask me, and then they’ll probably be stunned into silence by the beacons-of-Gondor levels of space nerdery which got me this particular assignment in the first place.

There are a couple of big milestones in space exploration coming up soon. I’ll have a post about them tomorrow. But in the meantime, I thought I’d share some cool stuff that I found while I was doing my content curation today…

  • A lot of cool science is happening on board the ISS, and the Center for the Advancement of Science in Space (CASIS, for short) wants to tell you all about it. Volume 2, Issue 2 of Upward talks about 3D printing in space, protein crystal experiments, and Tomatosphere. You can read this issue here.
  • If you want to know what’s going on with Orion, the mission team’s got you covered. Orion’s monthly newsletter is chock-full of photos, links, and stories about the crew capsule development process. Their archive is located here.
  • Last but not least, check out Explore Deep Space. Full disclosure: I’m a part-time contributor. I don’t run the account, but I still think you should have a look if you want a great curated feed featuring current news about space exploration, SLS, and Orion.

That’s all from me for now. I’ve got some research to do for tomorrow’s post – time to cue up some Frank Sinatra and get nostalgic.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

